Posted by: harrysachz | December 11, 2006

YouTube YouSability

ToooooooooooooooooobToday’s tech tip is brought to you by the letters: F, C, U, K and the number 2. One thing that has always bugged me about the internet is the incredibly bright white backgrounds that popular pages seem to leave as default. In a dark room at night, the last thing I wanna do is stare at a bright white screen, which is essentially like staring at a lightbulb while you read text. So I’m all up for any program that allows me to customize webpages to the way I see fit. Today, we’ll cover Stylish and GreaseMonkey.

Both of these Firefox additions allow users to write a simple code that will change most page behaviors. If anyone uses Firefox add-ons such as AdBlock or Weather plug-ins, the following process will seem somewhat familiar to you. Continuing…

TuuuuuuuuuuuurtleTubeWith this process, we’re going to attempt to make our future YouTube visits look like this.

1). Install Stylish
2). Install GreaseMonkey
3). Click [Load into Stylish] button on this script from UserStyles.org
4). That should open a new window with code. On the 40th and 41st lines in this code, there should be a height / width entry. Change the width to 760px and the height to 602 px. Click [Save]
5). Install this script from UserScripts.org

Tada. I’m gonna do this on my install of Ubuntu with a 1280 x 768 widescreen monitor, so I can further verify all size requirements [edit – works great πŸ˜› ]. If you like it, thank the people that wrote the scripts – I’m just some schmoe that likes to use them.

Responses

  1. I know this isn’t the point of the post, but how do you like running Ubuntu on your desktop? (And which version are you running?)

    Last week I set up an Ubuntu 6.10 server on a spare box (LAMP, headless, administered over SSH and HTTP), and it’s been lots of fun to mess around with. I’ve got it serving files with Samba, sharing a printer with CUPS, and downloading .torrents with BitTornado/TorrentFlux. It’s based largely on this tutorial.

    Any Ubuntu CLI tips and/or tricks you’ve learned while using the OS? I’m still relatively n00b-ish on Linux, but having warmed up on the OSX bash shell I’m figuring things out fairly quickly.

  2. Thanks for the link Brad!

    I too am going to go off topic from your response. These last few weeks, I got retarded bored and partitioned my laptop into 5 drives. The first was left my WinXp install (which is backed up by Acronis – because currently, it’s customized perfectly), and I randomly traded off multiple operating systems on the last 4. I bounced around with Ubuntu, Vista (shhh), Server 2003, Suse, Fedora, Mandrake, OSX 10.4.8 (shhh), etc… As it sits right now, it’s WinXp, _blank, Ubuntu 6.10 (mint), Suse 10.2, and _blank.

    The Ubuntu install is one called “Linux Mint“. They take all the typical stuff that one would install (I know – automatix does it too) like mp3, dvd, Firefox 2, and flash support during the install.

    Anyways, I don’t file serve, print, host web content or download torrents with linux. As far as everyday things though, it couldn’t be easier. Oh, except for the fact that they don’t have WPA support “out of the box”. That’s a big negative on their part. As far as downloading torrents (which you shouldn’t be doing – torrents are bad), I’ve heard great things about kTorrent, but that’s only for the KDE interface. I’m guessing (and hoping) you use Gnome environment.

    The main things stopping me from using Ubuntu full time is that I’m so comfortable with some key programs that are only in Windows. To this day I hadn’t found a good usenet client, rss aggregator, decent burning tools, and a good substitute for Photoshop. Gimp just doesn’t cut it for me. Everything else though, is perfect. Just needs some fine tuning for the tech enthusiasts. Until then, I’m hoping for a Mac under the tree this year. πŸ˜›

  3. The 5-partition setup sounds exhausting. Are you using LILO or GRUB as a boot loader? Thankfully I had a friend move out-of-state not long ago, and I was able to snag his old Gateway and DBAN the hard drive to have a dedicated “play” machine.

    I made the whole 20GB an Ubuntu Server Edition install… no GNOME or KDE at all, just pure command-line goodness. I’ve played around with LiveCD installs of both in the past though, and I think I do prefer GNOME if I ever decided to resort to a GUI.

    It’s a desktop box, so I wired it straight to my router rather than having to deal with WPA authentication. I’ve messed with wireless Linux in the past, in our old apartment where the working phone jacks were nowhere near the computer room, and I usually just gave up in disgust because the 802.11 PCI card in my machine used an Intel chipset that had no working Linux drivers. (Thankfully, our new townhome has working phone jacks all over the place, so I can set up the networking hardware wherever I damn well please.)

    I’m learning lots of cool things about the Linux/Unix command line; actually, in addition to this messing around I’ve also been taking classes at UCSD to get a Unix sysadmin certificate. Hopefully I’ll be able to use that to get a better job within the next year.

    And as far as “torrents are bad,” I’m using the machine mostly to seed .iso’s of Ubuntu 6.10, which I think you’d agree is a noble cause. I have been known to get a few TV episodes, but only ones Lauren or I missed and could have legitimately watched or taped ourselves.

    I’m trying hard to get things done server-side, so I can have access to my stuff from anywhere. Gmail, del.icio.us, and Google Reader (I just switched from Bloglines) suffice for most of my personal computer use these days, and once things settle down on configuring my Ubuntu install I’m thinking of using it to learn some programming, again by logging in to the box from anywhere.

  4. SeΓ±or Sachz:
    In response to your comment over at my blog:

    I connect via SSH (secure shell), which is just a command-line connection. You can use puTTY on Windows or “ssh @” from the Mac Terminal. Just make sure you install the openssh-server package on your Linux box, and forward port 22 from your router.

    Also, going through the SSH port I can use SFTP with most any regular FTP client to access files. TextWrangler (a free GUI text editor for Mac) lets me open text files directly over SFTP, and automatically uploads the new version every time I hit “save.”

    I can use a Web browser for many administration tasks. However, I don’t feel that I’ve sufficiently hardened my server to open any ports other than SSH to the Internet at large, so I have to be connected to my home LAN to administer torrent downloading/seeding, print server operation, etc.

    My server is headless and armless, which means there’s no monitor, keyboard, or mouse to interact with it locally… everything is administered over SSH or HTTP. In fact, the only cables sticking out of the back are power, Ethernet, and USB to the printer. (Except for when I’m reinstalling, which I’ve been doing a lot since I keep screwing things up and backing myself into a corner. But, hey, it’s only been a week since I started fooling around with it.)

    And actually, there is a reason to get all hard-core command-line. If I’m ever going to be a decent Unix system administrator I need to have the “maD sKillZ” in remote configuration and administration of servers.

    Finally, I think that TV torrents are fair game only if I actually had access to the original broadcast. We don’t get cable, so I only download shows from networks we can receive over the air. I just say “oops, forgot to set the VCR, but I could have done that and gotten my own copy in a way the networks have already approved.” I also delete the shows soon after watching them; like podcasts, it’s not necessary to keep the files around if I’m not going to be using them continually.

    P.S. You don’t need to post on my blog to get my attention. I use co.mments to follow comment threads on other blogs, which is a really cool service that scrapes Web pages you specify and compiles all new comments it finds into your own personal RSS feed. It can follow comments from most blogging engines, so if you just continue the thread here I’ll see the new post in my co.mments feed soon.

  5. Darn, the co.mments link I posted didn’t work right (it looks like I forgot the “http://”, so it thinks the URL is a folder or document on your blog).

    Anyway, the link I meant to post is here. You can also get it to email you comment updates if you don’t want to use RSS.

  6. Ha, I’ll keep that in mind; but like I said, it wasn’t to “get your attention”… since it was went from you —-> me on here, I flipped it the other way around and made it me —-> you on your area. My apologies, and I’ll obviously not make that mistake again. Jeez. πŸ˜›

    Good tip on the link to the Co.mments page. Once I get more situated with the whole blogging thing again (took a little time off) I’ll definitely make good use of that.

    But yeah, there’s nothing easy about being a Unix admin. You won’t find any competition in the marketplace from me in that area. I love Linux, love the interfaces, love the customizations, love the price πŸ˜› , but not exactly something I want to get THAT deep into. Servers either.

    The server I’m currently using is a 1.1TB file server, with like you said, just a ethernet jack and a power cable. All the stuff on there is shared off with samba and completely available to all the “computers” on the network. The only real use of it is to host tv shows and mp3s so I can watch them on my xbox in the living room. Oh, and to dump all my digital pictures to – also xbox viewable πŸ˜›

    I suppose eventually I’ll buy a hardware VPN and do things that way. Until then, I need to come up with an idea for an engineering project for class by Friday.

    If anyone has any ideas for something under the following rules, I would be much obliged:

    A Controlled Process
    A system that has one manual input, one automatic input, one manual output, and one automatic output. Must incorporate a PLC (programmable logic controller) or equivalent output from a computer [a computer can be considered a plc too πŸ˜› ]. Typically, the output is taken from a parallel port using basic code when a PC is incorporated. PLC chips may also be used.

    [your original co.mments link fixed btw]


Leave a Reply

Categories

